Posted by: Joe Palmer | June 3, 2009

I Can’t Remember What God has Forgotten


I Can’t Remember What God has Forgotten

By Joe Palmer

Jeff Ingram wanted his past back. He said, “I want my past. I want who I was, or who I am.” He can’t remember anything prior to the time he woke up on the streets of Denver. Ingram, who is suffering from a form of amnesia, was seen by his girlfriend on television asking for help to discover his identity.

What strikes me about this story is while many are running from their past, Ingram is running to his. What if he had discovered he was a murderer awaiting trail? What if had forgotten the pain of child abuse? What if his amnesia was a blessing, to not be able to remember the pain of his former life?

The truth is we can’t run from our past, but we can run to a better future. Our past can make us stronger. By learning from our mistakes we grow. We can use our past to help encourage others to not make the same mistakes, or to teach them how to overcome obstacles. We learn to be sympathetic to people’s problems and to love them.

The Lord can heal our past wounds. Jesus begs us, “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” Mt. 11:28 John told us that “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” I John 1:9 The very concept of becoming a child of God is called a new birth. The old man is done away and the new man takes his place according to Romans chapter 6.

The best news of all is that God has amnesia. That’s right, He says, “For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their lawless deeds I will remember no more.” Heb. 8:12 While we may recall our past sins; and others may bring up our past; God says he has forgotten it. All I can say is “Hallelujah what a Savior.”

Wishing you “A Better Life” now and in eternity.

Leave a Reply

Categories

