Posted by: Joe Palmer | September 11, 2009

STUPID INSURANCE


Stupid Insurance

By Joe Palmer

This week I used my stupid insurance again. If you own a home you no doubt have home owners insurance. You probably own some life insurance. You may have disability, dental, or cancer insurance. We all are concerned about having adequate health insurance. But, do you own stupid insurance? A couple years ago on a whim I bought some stupid insurance. At the time I didn’t think I needed it (I know some of you are thinking I need to increase my coverage) but I soon found out that I did. I bought it because for one month it was free and after that I could cancel it.

Let me explain what stupid insurance is before I go any further. Stupid insurance as I call it is sold through many outlets. I bought mine through my cell phone provider. It helps me if I do something stupid like run out of gas, leave the lights on my car burning, or lock my keys in my car. All of which I have done. In that event I call the nice helpful people at ATT and they send somebody out to help undo the stupid thing which I have done. This week I locked my keys in my car.

We all make mistakes. The Bible says we all sin. (Rom 3:23) Is there a difference between sin and a mistake? Yes and no. We may sin because we have been fooled into doing something wrong. We may have sinned because the temptation was just so strong we gave in. We may have sinned because we acted without thinking. We also sometime sin willfully. Sins can be mistakes, errors in judgment, or humane weakness. Sometimes we make mistakes that aren’t sin but they are visible to our friends and family.

We all want people to forgive our mistakes. We all want people to forgive our mistakes. Whether it is a sin or just a mistake we want patience, understanding, forgiveness, and a second, third, or a 70 X 7th chance. That does not mean you don’t hold people accountable. It does not mean you do not confront the sin or mistake. It just means you want people to help you and allow you to grow and improve.\

We usually call other people’s mistakes stupid, but our mistakes are just mistakes. The question comes, “How do I deal with other people’s mistakes, sins, and faults.?” The Bible does give us some guidelines.

First – We are to confront people in love with personal conflicts, moral sins, or things they have done that hurt us. (Gal 6:1,2) (Matt 18:15-20)

Second – We are required to forgive other people. Scriptures says if we don’t forgive others God won’t for give us. Our forgiveness is to be unlimited that’s what Jesus meant in the concept of forgiving 70 x 7. (Matt 18:21-35)

Third, we need to be gracious in dealing with other people’s mistakes. Don’t chastise people in public. Don’t be harsh but remember the stupid or sinful things you have done in the past. We are to speak the truth in love, (Eph 4:15) and act in a spirit of gentleness. (Gal 6:1)

“…if anyone has a complaint against another even as Christ forgave you, so you also must do.” Col 3:13

Leave a Reply

Categories

