Posted by: Joe Palmer | December 24, 2009

What I learned from Christmas Movies


What I learned from Christmas Movies

By Joe Palmer

You know in life you can learn something from everything. Everything I learned about life I learned from Christmas movies (well not everything).

I learned that being a “Scrooge” can keep you up at night and cause you to have bad dreams. Maybe that is why we need our conscience.  Don’t let sin and the world sear over your conscience. (I Tim 4:2)

 I learned that even if a “Grinch” steals your packages he can’t steal your joy unless you let him. Don’t let anyone steal your joy in being a Christian.

 I learned from “Rudolph” that when people make fun of you and laugh at you if you keep letting your best qualities shine through eventually everything works out. This reminds me that as a Christian, I need to let my light shine before men so that they will glorify God. Matthew 5:16

‘Joyeux Noel’ taught me that even the bitterest enemies can put down the arms and have peace for a special day. In case you have never heard of this movie it is the true story of how German, French and Scottish troops in WWI called a ceasefire for Christmas Eve. If they can find peace on earth for this most special of nights, surely we can find unity in the body of Christ.

“Miracle on 34th Street,” reminds me to not be so cynical and to remember that people are what is most important.  I know that when everything looks down that “It’s a Wonderful Life” because when you give love it always comes back when you need it most. Luke 6:38

“A Christmas Story” taught me to not lick flag poles and that sometimes Christmas isn’t what you expected but life is wonderful through its ups and downs because family is what matters.   If you have physical family be thankful. If you have a Spiritual family be thankful to God.

Joe Palmer

Niceville, Florida

Leave a Reply

Categories

