Posted by: Joe Palmer | January 26, 2010

How to Make Blogging Count in Your Ministry


How to Make Blogging Count in Your Ministry

By Joe Palmer

I love ministry. I love writing. I am excited to have found a medium where I can multiply my efforts by having more people around the nation read and comment on my work. Blogging has helped me fill that void.

To the non-technical let’s define how simple blogging is.

  1. First of all blogging is free. Check out WordPress.com Blogspot.com and Blogger.com for more information on how to start your own free blog.
  2. Blogging is liking having a website that you don’t have to build, don’t have to pay for, and if you are already writing sermons and articles don’t even have to work that hard to develop content for.  All these sites have templets that you can select and customize in a very short amount of time.
  3. Blogging doesn’t have to be time-consuming.  If you write sermons: post them.  If you write articles for your bulletin: use them.  You can even go back and add old sermons and articles to your blog when you are too busy to write a new post.

Blogging also has the added benefit in that it serves as a back up for your articles and sermons.  It allows you to easily access them later in the event your hard drive crashes.

Blogging is also an effective way to expand your ministry.

  1. It allows your congregation to access articles and sermons and even send them to friends. They can also go back and find them later for the purpose of Bible study or personal devotional.
  2. It lets you get feedback from people in the community and around the world.
  3. You can post announcements for events and send emails to your congregation encouraging them to go to your blog and then to send that link to a friend.
  4. Blogs are also a place to introduce people in the community and potential members to your teaching style.

Promoting your blog. I will admit that I don’t think I have this one down yet.

  1. You can tell people: in person, email, Facebook, Twitter,  are all great ways to let people know about your blog and it’s content.
  2. Content is the key.  People read good blogs. They read blogs about topics that interest them.  They read topics that offer something unique, or controversial.  So first focus on content, then on promotion.
  3. Join groups.  Join the groups that would enjoy your blog and mention it from time to time.  I have joined http://www.saintsmeet.com and various christian facebook groups.

A Secret Outlet for your blog.

I honestly started this post with just the intent of sharing this with my friends and expanded it.  When I started blogging I discovered that our local paper has a blog forum.  People post in a very crude format blog posts and comment on them.  I starting writing and posting some of my blogs on the newspaper’s blog forum.  I have found that people outside the church read and comment on my posts.  I list my name, church, and  contact information on my profile.  I try to pick articles that are relevant, and some that have a news angle to them. For example: “Obama Takes on Abortion” or  “Pat Robertson: Open Mouth, Insert Foot, Embarrass Christians.”  I am recently writing articles about marriage to promote a class that we have that is open to the public.  I mention the class at the end of each article.

You can also post in the Notes section of Facebook, or the blog section of Saintsmeet.com and perhaps many more places. Again the same articles can be used and often links can be added to your main blog.

I hope this post helps you and I welcome your suggestion on how to better use blogs to promote the Lord’s work.

Joe Palmer

Responses

  1. Good points, Joe, thanks for encouraging Christians to get out in public.

  2. Great post Joe – I wish more preachers would take advantage of this tremendous tool.

  3. Thanks Randal and techministry.

    Laymond,

    I first of all didn’t write the doctrine section.

    I don’t totally avoid the idea of the Trinity nor do I totally support it.

    The question to me is Who is Jesus? Who is God the Father? Who is the Holy Spirit. They are all God. How do I understand that? How do I make it make sense in my mind?

    For me the entire concept of God goes past my finite brain. The concept of eternal, omniscient, omnipresent, omnipotent, I can’t fully grasp them.

    So it doesn’t bother me that I can’ totally comprehend how one God can exist in three forms. The concept of Trinity isn’t something I repudiate. If I used the term it would only mean that I believe all three are God, all three are eternal, and all three are the same.

    However, you are right it is not a Bible term. The question comes what term should we use?

    I’d love to hear your comments or suggestions. I am just giving you my off the top thoughts.

  4. Thanks Joe! That will help me get my blog out to more people. Who knows, someday I may catch up to my son’s count thanks to your help. Hope y’all are doing great!

    • Thanks Danny, I hope you are doing great too.

      God Bless Joe

  5. Thanks for your thoughts and encouragement. Think I’ll post something on mine today, too!

    • Yea Barry. Go… BTW I had a hit on my blog today from a reader on the local paper so it does send traffic to my blog.

  6. Two points about your view that I am not clear about.

    Is Jesus God?

    Is the Holy Spirit God?

    • I deleted some posts from a guy who was teaching some false doctrine so blatant I could not ignore it. so this looks disjointed.

  7. Jesus is God.

    He said he and the Father were one.

    Joe

  8. Laymond I am sure and I hope you will be so before you pass from this life. I
    refer you to John 1:1 -14.

    The Jews therefore said to Him, “You are not yet fifty years old, and have You seen Abraham?” Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was born, I am.” Therefore they picked up stones to throw at Him; but Jesus hid Himself, and went out of the temple. (John 8:57-59)

    “I and the Father are one.” The Jews took up stones again to stone Him. Jesus answered them, “I showed you many good works from the Father; for which of them are you stoning Me?” The Jews answered Him, “For a good work we do not stone You, but for blasphemy; and because You, being a man, make Yourself out to be God.” (John 10:30-33)

    colossians 2:9

    If you are seriously troubled about this topic I would refer you to speak to your elders, or a Gospel preacher in your area.

  9. Joe, I like how you are not only using a blog for the church, but are going out to other people’s blogs, such as the local community blog. This “going out” is truly a missional approach.

    Could you post this on http://missionaloutreachnetwork.com? Thanks!

    • Do you want to post the whole article or a link? Feel free to do either. I’d appreciate a link back though.

      Joe


Leave a Reply

Categories

