Posted by: Joe Palmer | March 1, 2010

Good News Channel


Good News Channel

I got up this morning and I turned on the television and turned to the “Good News Channel.”  I enjoy sitting and listening to stories about Boy Scouts helping little old ladies across the street, how a big corporation was doing the right thing, and about the politicians who hadn’t cheated on their wives.

You say, “You haven’t seen this channel.” Neither have I.  A couple of people have tried this but it wasn’t commercially viable.  It seems we prefer bad news, to good news.

In fact if you sit and watch news like I do you soon can get pretty scared.  Corruption, crime, disasters, war, and scandal: those make up the news. Oh sure they throw in the occasional happy piece of news, but that is the exception rather than the rule.

Every day we have a choice to make. We can dwell on the negatives of life, our fears, suspicions, and hurts, or we can chose to dwell on the positive things, our hopes, dreams, and blessings.  The difference in what we choose to think about has a profound effect on us.

If I focus on the negative.

  • If I focus on fear, I won’t act in faith.
  • If I am suspicious, I won’t trust others.
  • If I think about hurts, I will continue to feel sorry for myself.

When I focus on the positive

  • When I hope, I consider the possibilities for success.
  • When I dream, I envision the good things that could happen when I act.
  • When I think about blessings, I see the good rather than the bad.

So what should we think about?

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. Philippians 4:8

Notice the follow-up to that.  When we think on these things it compels us to practice them. When we practice them we know God is with us. This assures us that we are in the Kingdom which cannot be shaken (Hebrews 12:28)

What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

Phil 4: 9 (ESV)

Leave a Reply

Categories

