Posted by: Joe Palmer | January 28, 2011

The Most Foolish Thing Ever Said


The Most Foolish Thing Ever Said

By Joe Palmer

My Dad had a wise saying that went like this.  “Never argue with a fool, someone listening might not be able to tell which one of you is the fool.”  I have said some foolish things in my life.  I have said things and 30 seconds later thought, “DUH, why did I say that?”  I have argued knowing I was wrong.  I have also witnessed a lot of these kinds of statements.  But I have never made the most foolish statement ever made.  Here are a few examples for you to consider.

“There doesn’t need to be a God for me. There’s something in people that’s spiritual, that’s godlike. I don’t feel like doing things just because people say things, but I also don’t really know if it’s better to just not believe in anything, either.”
Angelina Jolie, AV Club, September 6, 2000

“Technically, I’m an agnostic, but I definitely believe in hell – especially after watching the fall TV schedule.”
– Matt Groening, Celebrity Atheist List

“I’m an atheist, and that’s it. I believe there’s nothing we can know except that we should be kind to each other and do what we can for people”
– Katharine Hepburn, Ladies’ Home Journal, October 1991

“From my point of view I would ban religion completely, even though there are some wonderful things about it. I love the idea of the teachings of Jesus Christ and the beautiful stories about it, which I loved in Sunday school and I collected all the little stickers and put them in my book. But the reality is that organised religion doesn’t seem to work. It turns people into hateful lemmings and it’s not really compassionate.”
– Elton John, The Observer, November 12, 2006

“Not only is there no God, but try getting a plumber on weekends.”
– Woody Allen, “My Philosophy” in the The New Yorker

“The fool has said in his heart, “There is no God.””

(Psalms 14:1 NKJV)

MORE RESOURCES

TOP 15 quotes of Atheists

http://listverse.com/2007/12/07/top-15-quotes-by-famous-atheists/

A List of Celebrity Atheists

http://www.usa-people-search.com/content-celebrity-atheists-and-agnostics.aspx

Leave a Reply

Categories

