Posted by: Joe Palmer | December 30, 2011

Resolutions You Should Make


New Years Resolutions You Should Make

By Joe Palmer

To Lose Weight 

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us,”  (Hebrews 12:1 ESV)

Get out of Debt 

“And you, who were dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made alive together with him, having forgiven us all our trespasses, by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross.” (Colossians 2:13–14 ESV)

To Travel

 “And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.”  (Mark 16:15 KJV)

To Spend More Time with My Family

 “For this cause I bow my knees unto the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, Of whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named, That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man; That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith;”  (Ephesians 3:14–17 KJV)

“Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching. (Hebrews 10:25 KJV)

 

Get Ready for my New Home

In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.”  (John 14:2–3 KJV)

Exercise

“But refuse profane and old wives’ fables, and exercise thyself rather unto godliness. For bodily exercise profiteth little: but godliness is profitable unto all things, having promise of the life that now is, and of that which is to come.”  (1 Timothy 4:7–8 KJV)

Eat right

We start with the milk of God’s word.  “As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby:”  (1 Peter 2:2 KJV)  We grow to the meat.  “But I, brothers, could not address you as spiritual people, but as people of the flesh, as infants in Christ. I fed you with milk, not solid food, for you were not ready for it. And even now you are not yet ready”  (1 Corinthians 3:1–3 ESV)

Joe PalmerImage

Responses

  1. Loved your approach. Can I translate it?

  2. As that 90% of it is scripture how could I say no? Of course that would be great.

    • Thanks, I may try to get it in next week’s bulletin. I’ll send you a copy of it, if I don’t forget.

  3. great stuff, will give you credit when it appears in our bulletin

  4. I like the scriptures you have used for each concern, esp. the first two and particularly the Hebrews 12 because I have been searching for the scripture that refers to the Cloud of Witnesses. You helped me out with my next project.
    Thanks. I hope you have a very blessed New Year ahead.

    BIG KISS ! ; )

  5. Oh. By the way, the header photo looks so much like Wales I have to ask if it might be the northern coastal region there- is it ?

  6. […] This is the Powerpoint from the article “Resolutions You Should Make. “https://joepalmer.wordpress.com/2011/12/30/resolutions-you-should-make/ […]

  7. Evelyn, Sorry I used a stock photo so I don’t know. I picked it because I live on the coast of FL.


Leave a Reply

Categories

