Posted by: Joe Palmer | March 8, 2017

Why Christians Shouldn’t Boycott Beauty & the Beast


Well the internet is abuzz with the drama about Beauty and the Beast and it’s “GAY MOMENT.” Franklin Graham and about every Christian group out there are calling for a boycott. Most just of the movie but some of the entire corporation.

Some are pushing back and saying “NO, Christians shouldn’t boycott.” I have heard everything from the claim we are hypocrites, to the idea that the world will think we are fanatics if we boycott. Imagine that, we think being passive is a good PR move and will win disciples. As for the hypocrisy charge, the argument went like this. If you watch a movie with anything offensive in it to the Christian faith you can’t call for a boycott of this movie without being a hypocrite. Leave it to a millennial to use logic like that.

Well guess what I decided Christians shouldn’t boycott either. Now before you head off on your high-horse and shoot me down as a liberal at least hear me out. For those of you who agree that we shouldn’t boycott let me slow you down too. Don’t go buy that ticket just yet.

You see my position is we shouldn’t have to call for a boycott of a pro-homosexual movie aimed at children and families. People who are really Christians should know from the scriptures that we need to stay away from this movie. We shouldn’t have to call for a boycott, because Christians should already be staying away from these movies, but we’re not.

Now I know how hard it is to stay away from every evil influence in the world. I know I live in a glass house and I shouldn’t throw stones. I know that anyone who followed me around for a day or less would find some inconsistency in my life and could quickly shout “AH, HA I got you.” I am not saying I am perfect. Nor am I saying you should be excommunicated if you, as an adult, go to see it.

But honestly tell me why as Christians should we support this movie. Forget the comparison of this to another movie with a curse word. Let’s just say as my momma said, “Two wrongs don’t make a right.” Your argument that because I watch some other movie with something more or less offensive than this one has nothing to do with the reality of the question, “Should I as a Christian support this movie by buying a ticket and viewing it?”

Let’s look at the facts.

  • This movie is clearly a movie focused on young people, although not exclusively.
  • This movie is clearly not essential to your life. You won’t die if you miss it.
  • It is clearly meant to support the homosexual movement, and push it into normalization.
  • If it tanks at the box office because Christians don’t go, it will be a clear message to film makers. Although, honestly it is clear to me that many of them don’t care and would rather present their pro perversion message and lose at the box office.

All of us need to let God have the final word in our life. It doesn’t matter what you think of these movies, or what my opinion is. It matters what God says. So here are some verses we should consider.

We are to renounce ungodliness. “Training us to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age,” Titus 2:12 ESV. Renounce is to deny, or to disown.
We are to think about the pure and commendable parts of life. “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.” (Phil 4:8 ESV) Don’t let the debate bog down your mind about how impure, and un-commendable a movie has to be. Take it one issue at a time and try to do better every day.
We are not to partner or partake in the old things of the world. But sexual immorality and all impurity or covetousness must not even be named among you, as is proper among saints. 4 Let there be no filthiness nor foolish talk nor crude joking, which are out of place, but instead let there be thanksgiving. 5 For you may be sure of this, that everyone who is sexually immoral or impure, or who is covetous (that is, an idolater), has no inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and God. 6 Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of these things the wrath of God comes upon the sons of disobedience. 7 Therefore do not become partners with them; 8 for at one time you were darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of light 9 (for the fruit of light is found in all that is good and right and true), 10 and try to discern what is pleasing to the Lord. 11 Take no part in the unfruitful works of darkness, but instead expose them. 12 For it is shameful even to speak of the things that they do in secret.

Now there are a lot more verses we could look at. Let me share a serious and personal thought as I close. I seriously know that I have been as guilty as anyone of not always guarding the content of the movies, music, and entertainment I watch. So this is not an attack. I said some things in a strong way hoping it might wake us up.

I am disturbed that some Christians have seemingly thrown in the towel and said, “We are in the world and not of the world” all the while using that as a defense to participate in the world. I hope what we do is call each other to a higher standard, not just keep sinking to a lower one. The goal is not to reform or bankrupt Disney, but to keep the church pure. Most importantly I want to keep myself pure.

I pray every day for God to forgive me of my sins. My prayer for us all is that God would grant us what Paul prayed for the Philippians. “And it is my prayer that your love may abound more and more, with knowledge and all discernment, so that you may approve what is excellent, and so be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God.” (Phil 1:9-11 ESV)

We need more discernment, but we have to use discernment. Solomon was the wisest man to ever live, blessed by God. Yet he didn’t use it and lead Israel into idolatry. I pray we all receive from the Lord more discernment and that we use it in a wise way to navigate this world.

Joe Palmer


Responses

  1. On the other side, Disney chose the villian’s fool (Le Fou is French for “the fool”) to showcase a positive homosexual movement? I’m not advocating one way or the other, but I found this tidbit ironic.


Leave a comment

Categories